Newsletter Archive

Client Council Offers Invaluable Feedback

Established in 2014, the Church Pension Group (CPG) Client Council consists of individuals who represent a broad range of Church leaders, including bishops, priests, canons, deacons, diocesan and parish administrators, lay leaders, and executive directors. Selected for their diverse backgrounds, expertise in the Church, and willingness to provide candid feedback, Council members serve three-year terms. They hear from senior CPG leaders, who discuss current programs and initiatives, and, in turn, the Council provides feedback and insights related to the products and services CPG offers its clients. The inaugural Council, for instance, weighed in on the DHP and, more recently, the proposed revisions to The Church Pension Fund Clergy Pension Plan (Clergy Pension Plan) and related plans.

When terms expired at the end of 2017, 27 new members joined the Council. In March, they gathered along with seven previous members at CPG’s New York City office for the first annual meeting of the 2018-2020 group. Topics of discussion included decisions about our benefits policies, insurance strategies, Christian formation resources, issues affecting General Convention, financial and wellness resources, the changing demographics of the Church, and ways to better communicate the complexity of CPG’s work.

“We are excited to welcome our newest Client Council members and appreciate their commitment to providing us candid feedback as we continually look to improve the way we serve those who serve the Church,” said Laurie Kazilionis, Senior Vice President of Integrated Benefits Account Management Services.

2018–2020 Client Council Members

  • Ms. Debra Ainley, St. John's Church, Tulsa, OK
  • The Rt. Rev. Lloyd Allen, Diocese of Honduras
  • Mr. Dwight Babcock, Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast
  • The Venerable Walter Baer, Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe, Paris, France
  • Mr. Paul Barkett, St. Columba's Church, Washington, DC
  • The Rt. Rev. Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows, Diocese of Indianapolis
  • Ms. Janet Beason, St. Andrew's Church, Avondale, AZ
  • The Rt. Rev. Scott Benhase, Diocese of Georgia
  • Ms. Rita Benson, Diocese of Missouri
  • Canon Annette Buchanan, Union of Black Episcopalians, Washington, DC
  • The Rev. Robert Cook, Diocese of North Carolina
  • The Rev. Darren Elin, St. Thomas Church, Terrace Park, OH
  • The Rev. Canon Mark Furlow, Diocese of Southwestern Virginia
  • Ms. Kathryn Glover, VP for Administration and Institutional Effectiveness, Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria
  • Canon Barb Hagen, Diocese of Montana
  • The Rev. Maureen Hagen, Association for Episcopal Deacons, Westborough, MA
  • The Very Rev. Miguelina Howell, Christ Church Cathedral, Hartford, CT
  • Ms. Lauren Kinard, The Episcopal Church in South Carolina, Charleston, SC
  • The Rt. Rev. Dr. Ed Konieczny, Diocese of Oklahoma
  • Ms. Margaret Love, Valle Crucis Conference Center, Valle Crucis, NC
  • The Rev. David Madison, Southwestern Association of Episcopal Schools, Canyon, TX
  • The Rev. Canon Shannon Manning, Diocese of Louisiana
  • Ms. Barbara Martin, Executive Assistant to the Bishop and Manager of Diocesan Administration, Diocese of Maine
  • The Rt. Rev. Hector Monterroso, Assistant Bishop, Diocese of Houston, TX
  • The Rev. Jeffrey Ross, Rector, St. Peter's Church, Lewes, DE
  • The Rev. Dr. Stan Runnells, St. Paul's Church, Kansas City, MO
  • Ms. Sharlene Shah, St. Thomas Church, New York, NY
  • Canon Marlene Weigert, Diocese of North Carolina

2018 Returning Members (from the Class of 2015–2017)

  • Mr. Chip Broadway, Diocese of Virginia
  • Ms. Angela Byrd, Diocese of Southern Ohio
  • The Rev. Christopher Powell, Christ Church, Winnetka, IL
  • Mr. Todd Rubiano, Diocese of Rochester
  • The Rt. Rev. John Smylie, Diocese of Wyoming
  • Mr. Jeff Tyrakowski, Comprehensive Benefit Administrators, Quincy, MA
  • Ms. Lisa White, St. Paul's Church, Indianapolis, IN